My Consumer Manifesto

DSC_01454957

There’s always a lot of pressure when it comes to the First Post. Nevertheless, I have decided to bite the bullet and write one.

I decided I’d like to talk a little about something I firmly believe in: being a Conscious Consumer.

Call me crazy, but I honestly believe that we – you – should know where your money is going. You have the right to know where your food comes from, where your clothes come from, and what you’re investing your very hard-earned dollars into. You have the right to know these things, and from my experience, if you know where your dollars are going, you’ll make better and more informed spending choices.

There are two industries in particular that I don’t think enough people understand: food and fashion.

Now, I’m not a vegetarian or vegan – I love my In-N-Out just as much as the next person. I do, however, want to be aware of what I’m putting into my body. I’ve always promised myself that I wouldn’t be addicted to anything, and it wasn’t until I realized that I couldn’t make it through the day without my Diet Coke that, somewhere down the line, I had slipped up.

You should know what’s in your food. You should know where it’s coming from. In the end, your health is all you’re really going to have, and the fact that the food industry does as much as possible to hide the truth about what they’re giving you is not A-okay in my book. I find that if you do your research and take the time to learn more what’s out there, then you’ll not only make better and more conscious food choices, but you’ll feel better about the money you spend in that area as well.

Now let’s talk about fashion.

Guys – I love clothes. I really do. I like dressing, dressing down, experimenting and finding my own style. I love new shoes and bags, I love when it gets cold enough to put on layers and flannels. I believe in caring about your appearance, and I love the confident feeling that comes with knowing you look f-i-n-e.

Here’s what I don’t love: Sweatshops.

Ew.

Really, though. Just the word alone makes me cringe. And when I learned about Fast Fashion and the garment industry, my jaw dropped. I had always wondered just how someone could afford to produce tank tops and shirts for under $5, and the answers to my question were….appalling to say the least. After doing a lot of research, I realized that I had fallen into the trap of mass consumerism and that I no longer wanted to throw away my money on clothes that were made to fall apart, and to companies that exploit workers. It was a personal decision, and I have instead decided to invest in fair trade options. Again, that was just a personal choice. Even if you don’t decide to stop purchasing from major fast fashion retailers, it’s still incredibly important to know what’s going on behind the scenes. Someone once told me that they didn’t care where their clothes came from so long as it made them cheap, and even though I don’t personally agree, at least this person had an informed opinion about what made said clothes so cheap.

The more you know, the better informed your choices are, and the more satisfied you’ll feel after making an intentional, worthwhile investment. I promise.

Apologies for being so preachy – this site isn’t meant to be like that. It’s meant to be an outlet for culture and passion. This is something I’m passionate about, though. Being a conscious consumer is what will save our economy and our planet. Making informed decisions will make you value your purchases more, and I firmly believe that taking the time to learn about how different industries work will reward you (and your wallet) in the long run.

Want to get started? Check out some informational pieces:

Food 

10 Things the Food Industry Doesn’t Want You to Know 

Food Politics (book)

Watch: Food, Inc. (Netflix)

Fashion

Fast Fashion Has Completely Disrupted Apparel Retail 

5 Truths the Fast Fashion Industry Doesn’t Want You to Know

Watch: The True Cost (Netflix), Last Week Tonight With John Oliver: Fashion

Being a Conscious Consumer

How Becoming a Conscious Consumer Changed My Life 

One thought on “My Consumer Manifesto

Leave a comment